top of page


Prof Dr Steven Laureys MD PhD FEAN created and currently is director of the "Centre du Cerveau2” Clinic and the research teams of the "Coma Science Group" & "GIGA Consciousness Research Unit" of the University Hospital and University of Liège, Belgium and is Research Director at the Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research.

Steven has been awarded the prestigious Francqui award, is Commander of the Order of Leopold, Officer of the Walloon Merit, member of the Royal Academy of Medicine of Belgium, Ambassador of the Belgian Brain Council and past-member of the Belgian Advisory Committee on Bioethics. 

He is honorary citizen of his native town in Hoeilaart (Flemish Brabant), and of his current living place Liège where he was also awarded ambassadorship. 

He has received many international awards including from the US Society of Cognitive Neuroscience, US Association for the Scientific Study of Consciousness, German Max Planck Society, European Academy of Neurology and European Academy of Sciences.

He has (co)authored ~ 450 scientific papers (H-index ~110) and ~10 medical & scientific textbooks.

University qualifications

Medical Doctor (1993) Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Master in Science (1997) Medical & Pharmaceutical Research, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Qualified in Neurology (1998) Belgian Ministry of Health

Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences (2000) University of Liège

Qualified in End-of-life Medicine & Palliative Care (2004) U Libre de Bruxelles, U Liège,  U Catholique de Louvain

Agrégation de l’enseignement supérieur (2007     Habilitation), Université de Liège

Clinical Professor (2007) Université de Liège


Professional positions

Head & Clinical Professor, Centre du Cerveau2, University Hospital of Liège

Head of the GIGA Consciousness research Unit and Coma Science Group, University of Liège

Research Director, Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS)

Co-Director, Hangzhou International Consciousness Institute, China


1997 Flemish Society Neurology & Psychiatry / Eli Lilly –Prize Experimental Neurology

1997 Prix De Vooght, Brussels

1999 Lauréat Fondation Léon Fredericq, Liège

2000 Travel Award, Organization Human Brain Mapping's 6th Ann Meeting, San Antonio

2000 First Prize, European Society of Anesthesiologists’ 9th Ann Meeting, Vienna

2001 Travel Award, Organization Human Brain Mapping's 7th Ann Meeting, Brighton

2002  Belgian Bi-annual Neurological Society Award - Glaxo Smith Kline

2003 Travel Award, Organization Human Brain Mapping's 9th Ann Meeting, NY, USA

2003 European Federation of Neurological Societies Award, 7th Ann Meeting, Helsinki

2004 ASSC William James Prize for Contributions to the Study of Consciousness, USA

2005 Tom Slick Research Award in Consciousness, Mind Science Foundation, TX, USA

2006  Belgian Nuclear Research Centre - Pr Roger Van Geen Award

2006 Tom Slick Research Award in Consciousness, Mind Science Foundation, TX, USA

2007  InBev-Baillet Latour Fund Clinical Research Prize

2007  Society of Cognitive Neuroscience Young Investigator Award, New York, USA

2009  26th World Cultural Council Award - Special Recognition for Science – Mexico/ULg

2011  Honorary citizenship, Hoeilaart, Flanders

2012  Blaise Pascal Medal of Medicine, European Academy of Sciences

2014  Mérite Wallon Rang d'Officier

2014  Marcel Linsman Prize

2015  Francqui Professor Chair – University of Namur

2017  Honorary citizenship, Liège, Wallonia

2017  Zülch Prize neurological research (with Giulio Tononi) - Max Planck Society

2017  Francqui Prize biological & medical sciences - Royal Belgian Academy

2018  Commander in the Order of Leopold

2020 European Academy of Neurology - Brown-Séquard Award for systems neuroscience, functional neurology & functional imaging


Fellowships and Scientific Memberships

Member of the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives (2018-)

Association for the Scientific Study of Consciousness (Member since 2003, Board of Directors 2009-2012, President 2016)

Member of the Belgian Advisory Committee on Bioethics (2014-2018)

Fellow of the European Academy of Neurology (2014-)

Founder & Chair, World Federation of Neurology Applied Research Group on Coma and Disorders of Consciousness (2012-)

Founder & Chair, European Neurological Society Subcommittee on Coma and Disorders of Consciousness (2008-), currently European Academy of Neurology

Board of Governors, International Brain Injury Association (2010-)

Belgian representative for the Steering Committee of the Stakeholder Board of the European Human Brain Project (2015-2019)

Belgian Brain Council, Ambassador (2013-)

Member Verein, Mind and Life Europe (2015)

Scientific Advisory Board Committee Traumatic Brain Injury Model System, University of Harvard and Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital, Boston, Boston USA

International Board Advisory Member of the Consciousness in neurocritical care cohort study using fMRI and EEG, University Hospital of Copenhagen

Member of the World Health Organization (WHO) Global Neurology Network - Diseases of the Nervous System Working Group reviewing the International Classification of Diseases, 11th edition (ICD11)

Member of the American Academy of Neurology Committee for the Development of Practice Guidelines for the Vegetative and Minimally Conscious State (2007-)

Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2012-)

National Institutes of Health (NIH)/ National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Identifying Common Data Elements (CDEs) for Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Working Group (2011-)

Research Advisory Board for the Traumatic Brain Injury Model System, USA National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (2012-)

Invited Professor College Belgique (2008)

Member of the Locked-in Syndrome International Scientific Committee (2009-)

Management Committee Member of the European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research (2008)

Member of the European Federation of Neurological Societies Task Force for the Development of Management Guidelines for the Vegetative State (2007-)

Research Collaborator, Oxford Centre for Neuroethics (2008-2010)

Honorary International Fellow at the Institute of Complex Neuro-disability, Royal Hospital of Neuro-disability, London, UK (2004-2008)

Member of the French Association for Locked-in Syndrome Scientific Board (2002-)

Previous memberships: Society for Neuroscience, Organization for Human Brain Mapping, Neuroethics Society, Cognitive Neuroscience Society, European Neurological Society, European Federation of Neurological Societies, Academy for Multidisciplinary Neurotraumatology, Belgian Society of Neurology, Belgian Society of Neuroscience, International Association for the Study of Pain

1 (4).jpg
1 (5).jpg
bottom of page